Arizona Board of Nursing DUI Overview
An Arizona nurse who is charged with a DUI not only has to worry about the criminal consequences, but the professional repercussions with the Arizona Board of Nursing as well. Arizona law holds that any health professional who has been charged with a misdemeanor involving conduct that may affect patient safety (this includes a DUI) must notify their licensing board in writing within 10 business days.
Being charged with a crime means that a police officer has issued an arrest or citation and has sent copies of their report to the prosecutor’s office for review. Failure to report the criminal charge within 10 business days will result in an act of unprofessional conduct and the Board may impose a fine in addition to disciplinary action. Many professionals are given bad advice from their criminal defense attorney and are told they only have to report a conviction. This is not true and why it is crucial to make the right decision while hiring a DUI defense attorney. Charlie Naegle and Naegle & Crider Criminal Defense Attorneys care about you and your profession and are the best choice to defend you and your career.
Here are some common questions professionals have regarding reporting a DUI charge to a licensing board:
Q: If you have been charged with a DUI, what is the best way to inform your Board?
A: Contact an attorney within 10 days of you being charged with a DUI.
Q: What happens once I report the charge to the Board?
A: The Board will initiate an investigation and you will eventually have to go in front of the Board.
Q: What will the investigator look at?
A: Many things:
- What your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) was.
- If you were charged with an Extreme DUI, it is likely that the Board will order an addiction evaluation.
- How many prior DUI convictions you have had.
- Whether you have a history of substance abuse.
- Do you have a record of substance abuse with your past employers
Being charged with a DUI is an offense that every nurse should take seriously. Losing your driver’s license is one thing, but losing your professional license is something that must be avoided at all costs. Do not go through this process dealing with DUI charges and the Arizona Board of Nursing alone. Contact Mesa DUI lawyer Charlie Naegle at Naegle & Crider Criminal Defense Attorneys now for your free, anytime, anywhere consultation. We care about you and your profession.