A DUI is a serious matter for any driver, regardless of age. But when a minor decides to consume alcohol and drive, consequences may be even more significant. While the old advice of not drinking and driving still goes, working with an attorney is important if your child ends up facing a DUI charge. Our law firm represents drivers charged with a DUI and other vehicular crimes – here are a few answers to common questions we receive every day.
What Do Arizona Laws Say About Underage DUIs?
Arizona is a zero-tolerance state when it comes to underage DUIs. Anyone under the age of 21 who consumes any amount of alcohol and is found in actual physical control of a motor vehicle can be charged with a DUI, regardless of whether they were affected by the alcoholic drinks or not. This means you don’t even have to feel “tipsy” in order to be charged. Simply consuming even a small amount of alcohol and getting behind the wheel is enough.
What Are the Penalties for Underage DUI in Arizona?
Arizona has some of the strictest DUI laws concerning drivers under the age of 21. If law enforcement finds an underage driver with more than 0.00% of alcohol in their blood, the driver may be looking at spending at least a day in jail, paying a fine, and having their license suspended for at least 90 days. A second DUI charge within 7 years may result in a longer jail sentence of at least 30 days, higher fines, and a possible year-long license suspension. There may also be other charges related to possessing and/or consuming alcohol, carrying a fake ID, and other traffic violations.
How Are Insurance Premiums Affected by an Underage DUI Charge?
Most insurance carriers find it too risky to insure an underage driver after a DUI conviction. Some carriers may terminate the policy altogether, while others may continue offering coverage but with sky-high premiums. Because the driver is now considered high risk, he or she may expect to pay an average of $200 more for car insurance for approximately 3 to 5 years, depending on the insurance company.
If you or a loved one are facing an underage DUI charge, there is no reason you should fight it alone. Our law firm has represented many drivers charged with a DUI and can help you avoid maximum sentences and get a better outcome for your case. Contact the Naegle Law Firm, PLC, by calling (480) 245-5550 and request a free consultation to learn your options.
The post What Are The Penalties for Underage DUI in Arizona? appeared first on Naegle Law Firm, PLC.