Skip to Content
Call Us Today! 480-245-5550

Misdemeanor Defense Lawyer In Mesa, Arizona


Get an Award-Winning Legal Team on Your Side

Misdemeanors in the state of Arizona are criminal offenses that are punishable by up to six months in county jail. While a misdemeanor is less serious than a felony, being charged with any type of crime can be detrimental to a person’s future and reputation. If you have been charged with a misdemeanor, a trial-tested Mesa criminal defense lawyer from Naegle Law Firm can protect your rights in court and minimize your chances of serving harsh legal consequences.

Facing charges? Tell us about your situation during a free consultation.

Do Misdemeanors Go Away in Arizona?

In Arizona, misdemeanors and felony convictions stay in your record for nearly all of your life; well until you’re 99. You can ask the court to set aside qualifying convictions, but it won’t remove convictions from your record. If a full background check is run, you can still see the convictions. When employers run the background check and see that a conviction be set aside, it is still frowned upon but your chances are better if they see that the conviction is set aside.

What is the Difference between a Misdemeanor and a Felony?

Misdemeanors and felonies are separated into three categories, class 1 – 3. The maximum penalty for a misdemeanor is six months of jail time whereas a felony, you can go to prison for a much longer time.

Classes of Misdemeanors in Arizona

Arizona classifies misdemeanors into three different categories based on severity, with each of these classes carrying a different set of consequences. A conviction of any type of misdemeanor offense can expose a person to jail time, expensive fines, and community service. In addition, being convicted of a crime can make it difficult for a person to find suitable employment and housing, as many employers and landlords tend to favor applicants without criminal histories.

Misdemeanors Are Classified by the Following:

  • Class 1: Class 1 misdemeanors are the most serious category of misdemeanor offenses, bringing up to six months in county jail and fines up to $2,500 upon conviction. Disorderly conduct and prostitution are considered Class 1 misdemeanors.
  • Class 2: Offenses such as intentionally exposing another person to an infectious disease are classified as a Class 2 misdemeanor. In many cases, this category is used to classify offenses that have not been categorized through legislation. A conviction for this category of offenses can bring a maximum or four months in jail and fines up to $750.
  • Class 3: Class 3 misdemeanors, such as asking someone to buy, sell, or give you alcohol if you are under age 21, are punishable by up to $500 in fines and up to 30 days in jail. Class 3 misdemeanors are the least serious type of misdemeanor crimes.

Let Us Defend Your Future – Call (480) 245-5550

At Naegle Law Firm, we understand that good people can sometimes find themselves in difficult situations. If you are facing misdemeanor charges, we are fully prepared to go the distance in pursuit of a desirable outcome on your behalf. Having earned a Top 40 Trial Lawyers Under 40 award and an AV® Rating by Martindale-Hubbell®, our Mesa criminal defense lawyers can provide the top-rated advocacy you need to maximize your chances of securing a reduction or dismissal of your charges. With constant communication and an unparalleled dedication to protecting your rights, your case is sure to be in excellent hands.

Contact our office online today to take the first step towards retaining the advocacy you deserve.

The post Misdemeanor Defense Lawyer In Mesa, Arizona appeared first on Naegle Law Firm, PLC.

Share To: