Laws against drinking and driving vary state to state. Because there is not a national consistent law throughout the United States, it can often times be confusing knowing the “laws of the land.” Hopefully this post can clear up the current Arizona Drinking and Driving Laws.
When is a driver considered to be legally drunk in Arizona?
-When your blood alcohol level is .08 or more and you are behind the wheel of a non-commercial drivers age 21+ are considered legally drunk. While commercial vehicles drivers are legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is .04 percent or greater. Under Arizona law, school bus drivers are commercial drivers. It is illegal for a person under 21 to drive while there is any liquor in the person’s body. Under Arizona law, the offense of “underage drinking and driving” may be committed without any evidence or presumption of “impaired” driving. If an 18, 19, or 20-year old driver is actually impaired or has a blood alcohol level of .08 or greater, that driver may be charged with DUI and underage drinking and driving.
Charlie Naegle is aMesa DUI lawyer who knows and understands DUI law in Arizona. It is important to contact an attorney as soon as possible when charged with any of the below types of DUI charges. On these pages find out:
– How a Mesa DUI attorney can make a difference.
– The tests you are subject to upon arrest in Mesa Arizona.
-The consequences of a guilty verdict.
– What you should/should not say to an officer upon arrest
If you’re facing DUI charges in Mesa Arizona, it is still possible to escape punishment or have the charges significantly reduced through the help of a capable Criminal Defense Attorney. View any of our DUI pages below:
Call 480-245-5550 to schedule your free anytime, anywhere consultation with Assault Lawyers Mesa AZ, Charlie Naegle, or go to the website and use the form, someone from the firm will be in touch with you shortly.