Trusted Arizona Defense Attorney
Back to Top

Reinstating a Suspended AZ License after a DUI Arrest

Whether you fail or refuse a DUI blood or breath test, the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) will suspend your driver’s license for 12 months. If it occurs again within 84 months, your driver’s license will be suspended for two years. If your driver’s license was revoked, the AZ MVD must complete an investigation prior to reinstating your driving privileges.

Remember, you face additional criminal charges if convicted of a DUI in court. If you drive with a suspended or revoked license, your vehicle may be impounded for 30 days.

GETTING YOUR DRIVER’S LICENSE BACK

Fortunately, you have a chance to get your driving privileges back by requesting an AZ MVD administrative hearing. Keep in mind, MVD hearings have do not affect your criminal proceedings and court decisions. However, if your suspension or revocation was categorized as “mandatory,” you are not able to request a hearing.

The following are several ways to request a hearing for your AZ MVD suspension:

  • E-mail your request to AZ MVD
  • Complete a hearing request form and either take it to an AZ DMV office or mail it to the Department of Transportation’s (DOT) Executive Hearing Office.
  • Fax your request to (602) 241-1624

Upon receiving your request, your hearing will be scheduled within 30 to 35 days. If you request a hearing outside of Tucson or Phoenix, your hearing may be scheduled within 60 days.

Make sure you check your notice to see if your suspension or revocation is placed “on hold” until your hearing is completed.

For more information about reinstating your driver's licensecontact Naegle Law Firm at (480) 771-8144 or fill out our online form to schedule a free case consultation today.