Trusted Arizona Defense Attorney
Back to Top

How Does a DUI Affect My Arizona Driver's License?

One of the most common concerns that people have in regards to being charged with driving under the influence (DUI) is how it can affect their Arizona driver’s license. A DUI can have a number of serious long-term consequences for a person’s driving record, including license suspensions, revocations, greatly increased insurance rates, and expensive fines. If you have been charged with DUI, it is important you know what you are up against and contact an attorney as soon as possible to protect yourself against these potential consequences.

WILL MY LICENSE BE SUSPENDED?

Yes. A first offense DUI can bring a minimum 90 day driver’s license suspension, though this can be extended to 360 days depending on the circumstances surrounding your arrest. Second and third offenses will bring a minimum one year license suspension each. In some cases, you may be able to apply for a restricted or “hardship” license allowing you to drive to work, school, and medical appointments under the condition that you install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle at your own expense. These licenses are not guaranteed, however, and are issued on a case-by-case basis by the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD).

After being charged with DUI, you will be given 15 days to schedule a hearing with the MVD to appeal your license suspension. If you win this hearing, the suspension will not go into effect. If you do not request a hearing in time or lose your hearing, you must serve the suspension as originally imposed.

HOW CAN I GET MY LICENSE BACK?

If you have had your license suspended following a DUI arrest, you will need to serve the full suspension and fulfill a number of requirements before you will be allowed to apply for reinstatement. Reinstating your license is essentially like applying for a new driver’s license and may include a driving test, vision tests, and a written test.

Requirements for reinstatement include:

  • Completion of a mandatory alcohol education program
  • Completion of all required community service hours
  • Pay all imposed fines
  • Install an ignition interlock device
  • Obtaining court clearance receipt
  • Pay a $10 reinstatement fee

CONSULT WITH A SKILLED MESA DUI LAWYER

If you are looking to reinstate your license or are facing DUI charges, it is imperative you contact a hard-hitting Mesa DUI attorney from Naegle Law Firm to protect your future and driving privileges. Having earned an AV® Rating by Martindale-Hubbell® and a 2013 “Top 40 Trial Lawyers Under 40” ranking for our excellence, we can provide the top-rated advocacy you need to maximize your chances of securing a desirable outcome for your situation.

Call (480) 771-8144 or request a free consultation today to review your legal options.

Categories