Ever since it became a mandatory sentence for DUI convictions in the late 1980’s, jail time is what most people are afraid of and are hoping to avoid when they know they are facing DUI charges. And while spending even a short time in jail can have a major impact on your life, it’s easy to overlook the other hard-hitting consequences of DUI, such as the exorbitant fines.In fact, many of those who have been convicted of DUI in the past have found that paying the fines can be much more difficult and have longer lasting effects than a night or 2 in jail. Keep reading to hear Mesa AZ DUI Attorney Charlie Naegle discuss the financial impacts of a DUI on your future.
Arizona DUI Penalties
Arizona does not mess around when it comes to levying steep punishments for DUI. The state ranks in the top 10 states with the stiffest DUI penalties and they continue to allocate a great deal of resources towards cracking down on DUI offenders. Penalties always include fines of some sort that definitely go up in cost with the severity or frequency of the DUI offense.
Let’s look at the financial penalties a person will face when convicted of “first time DUI.” Besides the mandatory jail time, the possible loss of your drivers license, and any classes or treatments you may be required to attend, here are the fees and fines you will incur:
- $250 Fine (plus an 84% surcharge)
- $500 DPS Fee
- $500 Prison Assessment Fee
- Fees for probation, time payment, and alcohol screening/treatment (if applicable)
- $1000 – Interlock Ignition Device Installation Cost
As you can see, once these costs add up, they can quickly become a burden. Many people simply do not have the money to pay these costs up front. They are then forced to set up payment arrangements through the Arizona court system. You might think that payments will make the fines easier to pay back over a period of time. But it is important to remember that missing a payment or even being late with one can have dire consequences, including the suspension of your driver’s license and potentially more jail time.
These fines and fees will definitely go up with more serious Mesa AZ DUI charges. For example, an Extreme DUI sentence carries with it a $500 fine (plus 84% surcharge), a $250 assessment fee, and over $2000 towards DPS and prison fees.
The Bottom Line — Hire Mesa AZ DUI Attorney today!
The worst part about incurring these fines is that it prolongs the amount of time it takes to put your DUI behind you and move on with your life. The clients Mesa AZ DUI Attorney Charlie Naegle works with are all looking to get past their DUI incident and get back on track with their lives. That’s why here at the Naelge Law Firm, we fight hard to defend our clients in their Gilbert or Mesa AZ DUI cases and work diligently to reduce sentences and fines as much as possible, as quickly as possible.
For more information on AZ DUI fines and how to avoid them, call Naegle & Crider Attorneys at Law today at 480-378-9000 for a free consultation.