The answer is typically yes. If you are convicted of DUI, your license will be suspended anywhere from 90 days up to 3 years. If it’s your first offense and it’s a misdemeanor DUI, then the suspension typically lasts for 90 days. After 30 days, you are able to apply for a restricted license, which will allow you to drive to work, or any treatments you are involved with. This restricted license is issued based on your previous driving record.
A felony DUI conviction can result in a driver’s license suspension of up to 3 years. In this case, there are no allowances for a restricted license.
In the state of Arizona, you can have your license suspended even if you haven’t been convicted of DUI. If your breath test results at the time you are stopped are above .08, you will receive an admin per se/implied consent affidavit. This affidavit states that the Motor Vehicle Division will suspend your driver’s license in 15 days. This suspension happens regardless of the outcome of your case.
It’s important that you get your license reinstated immediately after the suspension period is over. Your license is not automatically reinstated and if you continue to drive on a suspended license, you can face additional traffic violations and fees. There is a required fee that must be paid in order to reinstate your license.
To help reduce the punishment and consequences of a DUI, contact Gilbert DUI attorney Charlie Naegle as soon as possible. Charlie is an experienced lawyer who knows and understands the DUI law in Arizona.