Arizona is known for having tough DUI and DWI enforcement laws. We also have some of the best impaired driver enforcement programs in the U.S. Police officers in Arizona are put through thorough training and are prepared with resources intended specifically for DUI and DWI law enforcement. In addition, the State of Arizona recently granted the Maricopa County Sheriff’s Office a large sum of money to support DUI and Speeding enforcement. These funds could be used for increased patrols, over-time wages for DUI Investigators and increased drug recognition and detention efforts.
Here is a simple overview of some of Arizona’s DUI-related laws:
- Implied Consent Laws (A.R.S. § 28-1321)– Police have the authority to suspend a motorist’s driver license for refusing to take a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) whether they are impaired or not.
- Underage Drinking (A.R.S. § 4-244) – This is also the called “Zero Tolerance” law. It is unlawful for a person under the age of 21 to drive or be in physical control of a motor vehicle while they are under the influence of any level of alcohol.
- Impaired to the Slightest Degree (A.R.S. § 28-1381 A 1) – It is unlawful for a person to it driver or be in actual physical control of a vehicle if they are driving impaired to the slightest degree due to alcohol or drugs. This applies even if the person’s BAC is below the legal limit of 0.08%;
- DUI (A.R.S. § 28-1381 A 2) – BAC Exceeds Legal Limit 0.08% – BAC that exceeds .08%, but is below .15%;
- Extreme DUI (A.R.S. § 28-1382 A 1) – BAC that exceeds 0.15 % or more, but is less than 0.20%;
- Super Extreme DUI (A.R.S. § 28-1382 A 2) – BAC that exceeds 0.20 % or more;
- Aggravated DUI (A.R.S. § 28-1383 A 1) – DUI while driving on suspended or revoked driver’s license;
- Aggravated DUI (A.R.S. § 28-1383 A 2)– If charged with 3rd or more DUI within 7 years or 84 months;
- Aggravated DUI (A.R.S. § 28-1383 A 3) – DUI with a passenger under fifteen years in of age is in the vehicle.
Penalties for DUI, depending on the level of the charge, may include the following:
- Jail/Prison sentence
- Expensive fines or fees
- Interlock Ignition Device
- Driver’s license revocation or suspension
- Drug/alcohol counseling or treatment; restitution, and probation
If you have been charged with a DUI, contact the Naegle & Crider Criminal Defense Attorneys. Charlie Naegle will investigate your case and will defend your rights. Arizona DUI conviction could have devastating effects on your life. Make sure you have a qualified and aggressive Arizona DUI Attorney on your side.