Arizona law requires anybody arrested for DUI to take a blood, breath or urine test. Arizona’s “Implied consent” law says that by operating a motor vehicle in this state, you automatically give consent to chemical testing of your blood, breath or urine if an officer who has sufficient reason to believe you are driving under the influence of alcohol or another substance arrests you. In these cases, the officer making the arrests chooses which type of test you must undergo.
If you refuse to submit to any of these tests, you will be required to turn over your driver’s license and it will be suspended for 12 months, for a first offense and for 2 years if second offense occurs within 5 years. Furthermore, even if you refuse to take the test, police officers can obtain a search warrant, which will then require you to submit to the required testing. Refusing a test does not guarantee you will not be convicted of DUI and if you are found guilty of DUI, the consequences for refusal to test could just make matters worse.
If you are pulled over or face possible arrest for DUI, contact The Naegle Law Firm immediately. We have experienced DUI Attorneys that can help you understand your rights and your options. Naegle & Crider Criminal Defense Attorneys is committed to defending you and to providing an aggressive defense for your case.
Contact Naegle & Crider Criminal Defense Attorneys at 480-245-5550.