Assault charges in Arizona can be confusing and hard to understand. It is common for people charged with Assault to be confused about the details of the charge and about possible penalties associated with it. Here are a few basics to help you understand Assault charges in Arizona.
What is the difference between “Misdemeanor Assault” and “Aggravated Assault”?
Misdemeanor Assault – Also known as “Simple Assault” includes:
- intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causing physical injury to another person
- intentionally putting another person in danger of “imminent physical injury
- knowingly touching another person with the intent of physically injuring, provoking or insulting them
Conviction for simple assault can include punishment up to a Class 3 misdemeanor, 6 months in jail, and fines as much as $2,500.
Aggravated Assault – When any of the following factors exist on top of a Misdemeanor Assault, the charge becomes aggravated:
- causing serious physical injury
- use of a dangerous or deadly weapon
- assault committed when the victim is restrained
- victim of assault is a minor
- violation of a restraining order
- victim is a peace officer, firefighter, teacher, or health care practitioner on duty
There are many more circumstances or situations in which an assault charge could be elevated to an “aggravated” level. Aggravated Assault in Arizona is a felony and punishment can include up to 20 years of jail time.
If you have been charged with assault in Mesa, Gilbert, Phoenix or surrounding cities, don’t delay. The sooner you contact a qualified Arizona Assault Attorney, the sooner your rights are protected.
The Naegle & Crider Criminal Defense Attorneys can help you understand assault charges in Arizona and what the best defense strategy will be for your case. Contact Charlie Naegle on 480-245-5550 today.