FELON IN POSSESSION OF A FIREARM IN AZ
Get a Mesa Weapon Crime Lawyer on Your Side
Under Arizona Law A.R.S. § 13-3101.7, anyone convicted of a felony in any state is prohibited from owning, purchasing, or possessing any type of firearm. Known legally as “prohibited possession of a firearm,” this type of weapons crime can be charged as a Class 4 felony and expose defendants to harsh criminal penalties upon conviction. If you have been charged with prohibited possession of a firearm, it is urgent you retain the services of a powerful Mesa weapon crime attorney from Naegle & Crider Criminal Defense Attorneys as soon as possible to protect your future and freedom.
Countless clients have chosen us to handle their cases for the following reasons:
- National Trial Lawyers: Top 40 Under 40 inclusion
- 10.0 “Superb” Avvo Rating for client satisfaction
- Proven history of successful results
- Available 24/7 to discuss your case
- Affordable, competitive, and flexible fees
Do not take any chances – call (480) 418-0776 today to review your defense options.
What Can Be Considered “Possession of a Firearm?”
Determining when a person is or is not in possession of a firearm is not always as cut and dry as it may seem. While possession can be as obvious as holding a firearm in one’s hand, it can also extend to scenarios in which a person never even touched a weapon. Known as “constructive possession,” a person can be charged with prohibited possession of a firearm if it is in an area which they control, such as their vehicle or home. Under this definition, it is imperative for any individual with a felony conviction to stay away from any area or situation where a gun may be accessed.
The charge of illegal possession of a firearm extends beyond just individuals with felony records. The following groups of people are all considered “prohibited possessors” under Arizona law:
- Individuals found to be a danger to themselves or others, or who are severely disabled
- Individuals serving a term of imprisonment in any correctional or detention facility
- Minors who are adjudicated delinquents who have not recovered their right to possess a firearm
- Most undocumented or nonimmigrant aliens
At maximum, a person convicted of prohibited possession of a firearm in Arizona can face up to 3 years and 8 months in prison. If a prohibited possess or is charged with selling or giving a firearm to someone in a criminal gang or syndicate, these charges can be increased to a Class 3 felony and carry up to 7 years in prison upon conviction. Likewise, if a person is charged with prohibited possession while on probation for another crime, they could face a revocation of their probation and reinstatement of the sentence for the crime which they were originally convicted.
We Can Help You Fight Your Weapons Charge
When your freedom and future are on the line, you cannot afford to trust your case to a less experienced attorney. At Naegle Law Firm, we understand the severity of your situation and possess the knowledge and skills to give you a fighting chance against your charges. Depending on the circumstances, we may be able to negotiate for a reduction or complete dismissal of your charges. You are innocent until proven guilty, and we are committed to ensuring you are treated with the respect and dignity you deserve during this frightening time.
Discuss your charges with our Mesa criminal defense lawyers in detail during a free case review.
He Was Able to Get My Case Dismissed- Satisfied Client
Glad I Had Him as My Lawyer- Larry
Excellent Attorney- Satisfied Client
Saved My Family- Satisfied Client
Judge Had Great Respect for Charlie Naegle- Satisfied Client
Case Dismissed Interference with a Judicial Order of Protection
Case Reduced to Civil Fine Criminal Speeding
Not Guilty Two Counts of DUI
Full Acquittal Disorderly Conduct
Case Dismissed DUI
Charges Reduced DUI
Charges Reduced - License Saved Underage DUI
Pre-Indictment Dismissal Aggravated Assault
Jury Trial - Not Guilty Unlawful Flight from Law Enforcement
Jury Trial - Not Guilty on All Counts Several Felony Charges